2019 Annual General Meeting

Hawthorn Community Chest: Evolving with Change

Hawthorn Community Chest (HCC) held its Annual General Meeting on 7 September 2019. It has been a year of evolution for the charity, according to President Andrew Tait, who said that “HCC’s 60th year has been one of ongoing change as the needs of our local community have continued to change also. It has been a year of growth, innovation, team work and positive outcomes for our community.”

In his report, the President noted the key highlights for HCC’s year.

Grants Programs

In addition to its existing grants programs, HCC has piloted an Education Project. Working with Camcare and Boroondara Community Outreach, HCC supported four local, secondary-school children who are living in necessitous circumstances. These “scholarships” cover all their school-based costs for the year, including books, uniforms, MYKI cards, camps and tutors.

HCC has also begun an investigation into Mental Health. As a serious issue in our community, the Committee is looking at how HCC can play a leading role in this area.

Changes to the Committee

The 2019 year has brought some changes to the Committee with long-term member, Caroline Touzeau resigning, however we have been lucky to welcome five new people to the Committee: Dean Ardern, David Bonnett, Claudia Haegar, Chris Kendall and Tricia Maclean. The Committee elected Chris Kendall as a Vice-President, replacing Sarah Curtis. The Committee now consists of the following local volunteers:

President: Andrew Tait
Vice-Presidents: Chris Kendall, Jo Rush
Treasurer: Dean Ardern
Public Officer: Lisa Fletcher
Committee Members: Sandra Blackburn, David Bonnett, Sarah Curtis, David Gorton, Claudia Haeger, Tricia Maclean, Tony McHarg, Jane Nathan, Terry Pacini, Kia Sadler.

HCC Staffing Model

Reflecting the growth of our Business Supporter Program, our Executive Manager, Tina Probert, has been appointed as HCC’s Business Supporter Program Manager, to allow her to focus exclusively on this vital area. We are delighted to welcome Melanie Callander as HCC’s Office Manager. Mel has a background in marketing and social media.

Life Governors

The title of Life Governor was awarded to Andrew Gill, a former HCC Committee member (and a former Vice-President); David Gorton, Committee Member (and a former Treasurer); and Sarah Curtis, Committee Member (and a former Vice-President and President). This award recognises the outstanding contribution these individuals have made to HCC. Andrew, David and Sarah join a distinguished line of HCC’s Life Governors which include current Committee Members Jane Nathan and Terry Pacini.


HCC has continued its fundraising program, with a Bunnings BBQ in December 2018, a very successful Trivia Night in May 2019 and a mail-out in June. The President’s Cocktail Party, held in March at the home of Roger and Leslie Gillespie OAM, officially launched our Business Supporter Program. At this event we recognised the significant voluntary contribution made by Toni Prime to HCC, Deepdene Primary School and the local community by awarding Toni with the Jane Nathan Award 2019.

Finally, in celebration of 60 years of supporting our local community, we held a plaque unveiling ceremony with our Patron, the Hon. Josh Frydenberg MP. Our plaque is placed on a foundation stone located in the front grounds of the Hawthorn Community Precinct.

Federal Government Community Grant

With the assistance of our Patron, the Hon. Josh Frydenberg MP HCC was able to secure a community grant. This is the first time that HCC, in its 60-year history, has received any federal government assistance. This one-off grant will be received over the 2019/20 and 2020/21 financial years to support the growth of HCC’s Grant programs to assist HCC in continuing to meet the evolving needs of the community and individuals in necessitous circumstances.

Thank You

The President closed his report by thanking the HCC supporters.

“HCC would be unable to do its work without the help of its generous community. I especially thank HCC Patrons, the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, Mrs Lesley Gillespie OAM and Mr John Pesutto, who provide counsel and support whenever needed.

“I would also like to acknowledge the wonderful care agencies and charities we work alongside and our network of Business Supporters, individual donors, Philanthropic Supporters and organizations that have donated so generously throughout the year,” he said.


-3210365632164267480HCC’s AGM – 7 September 2019

Back row: Dean Ardern, Jane Nathan (Life Governor), Andrew Gill (Life Governor), Claudia Haeger, Kia Sadler, David Gorton (Life Governor), Chris Kendall.
Middle row: Tony McHarg, Lisa Fletcher, Andrew Tait, Tricia Maclean, Jo Rush.
Front row: Richard Jones (Life Governor), Terry Pacini, Andrew Fisher (Independent Reviewer), David Bonnett.
Absent: Committee Members Sandra Blackburn and Sarah Curtis (Life Governor).


For further information call 0499 400 043 or email admin@hawthorncommunitychest.org

HCC is an independent, registered charity that works either directly with recipients, with care providers or charities to ensure that people in Boroondara have somewhere to turn when they are most in need. HCC was established in 1958 and over the past 60 years it has worked to make life easier for thousands of local people and families.

For a printable version click here.